Ground Search

Guidelines

Submission Deadline: 15 April 2024, 6pm (HKT)

Hong Kong will host its first Hong Kong Performing Arts Expo (HKPAX) from 14 to 18 October 2024, connecting industry players from around the world and fostering cultural exchange. Establishing long-term relationships that inspire new possibilities and facilitate the development of collaborative projects is at the core of HKPAX. For details, please visit About HKPAX to learn more.

To encourage homegrown Hong Kong small and medium-sized performing arts groups and individual arts practitioners to make good use of the HKPAX as a platform to showcase their talents and connect with international counterparts, “Ground Search” will be held at the West Kowloon Cultural District Arts Pavilion during HKPAX. For four consecutive days from 15-18 October 2024, it is expected to feature a number of arts practitioners or arts groups each day to showcase a work, conduct a workshop or share a project for not more than 30 minutes. HKPAX will provide the stage, basic technical equipment, and a subsidy of HKD$20,000 to support each selected proposal of showcase / workshop / sharing.

Applicants are required to submit all documents on or before 6pm Hong Kong time on 15 April 2024.

  1. Enable international participants to learn more about Hong Kong’s unique culture and diversity that is characterised by a fusion of Chinese tradition and Western cultures.
  2. To introduce local small and medium-sized performing arts groups and individual arts practitioners to counterparts from around the globe with a view to further promoting Hong Kong performing arts industry internationally.
  3. Broaden and enhance the experiences and horizons of local arts practitioners in promoting their work to international art arena.
  4. Explore opportunities for international touring, establish global networks, and seek potential future collaboration prospects.

The applicant

  1. must be a local professional arts organisation or individual artist with not less than three years’ experience in performing arts. The applicant is not limited to arts organisations or artists under the support of “Eminent Arts Group Scheme”, “Year Grant” and “Project Grant” granted by Hong Kong Arts Development Council.
  2. has involved in or / and presented at least one ticketed production / performance in the past three years from April 2021 to April 2024 will be advantageous.
  3. the applicant and key project collaborators involved in the proposal must be holders of Hong Kong identity card and are residing in Hong Kong.
     

The proposal

  1. must be an activity within 30 minutes of duration in the format including but not limited to an excerpt performance, demonstration, workshop or sharing. A 15-minute gap will be allowed for changeover between each selected activity.
  2. shall adapt to the venue specification and utilise the technical equipment provided by HKPAX as specified here. If applicant would like to use additional equipment, they may do so on their own cost and after discussion and agreement with HKPAX team in ensuring the additional technical requirement fits all the selected proposals.

  1. The application form can be completed either in English or Chinese.
  2. The applicant may be required to provide supplementary documents and information from time to time in support of the application. Failure to provide such information in a timely manner will be considered withdrawal from the process.
  3. Please read through and understand the venue information from here before submitting the application.

  1. Applications will be assessed according to the following criteria:
    1. Artistic / professional merit, representativeness, organisational capabilities, and past experience in international promotion of the applicant.
    2. Proposal’s contribution to the promotion of Hong Kong's cultural and artistic scene.
    3. Proposal’s alignment with the mission and vision of HKPAX.
    4. Proposal’s feasibility and reasonableness of the content, scale, and work schedule.
  2. Applications will be assessed by HKPAX’s Local Advisory Panel and Chairmen of HKADC’s Art Form Groups of Dance, Drama, Music and Xiqu. They will make recommendations for endorsement to the Hong Kong Arts Development Fund Advisory Committee, whose decisions shall be final.
  3. An allowance of HKD$20,000 will be provided to support each successful applicant for the expenditure of their activity.
  4. Each successful applicant is required to provide materials including but not limited to photos, reviews and videos to HKPAX for publicity and marketing of the Ground Search.

Upon being selected, applicants will

  1. be invited to showcase a 30-minute activity in one of the sessions of Ground Search assigned by HKPAX. There will be a 15-minute gap for changeover between the selected activity.
  2. be required to submit materials including but not limited to arts group / artists’ introduction, photos, and videos (with English subtitles if possible) for promotional use.
  3. be required to attend a rehearsal (exact time to be confirmed), and other relevant activities. 

  1. Can I submit multiple applications for the Open Call for Ground Search?
    In order to ensure equality and fairness, only one application will be accepted from each applicant.

  2. Can I choose a specific date and time for my activity in Ground Search between 15-18 October 2024?
    Unfortunately, specific requests for date and time cannot be accommodated. The date and time for each activity will be assigned by HKPAX based on the practical considerations of art forms and technical arrangement of each activity. Each successful applicant is expected to have a 30-minute session on any day during the period (15–18 October 2024).

  3. Are there any specific requirements for the proposed activity?
    Ground Search offers a dedicated pitching ground for local small and medium-sized performing arts groups and individual arts practitioners to introduce themselves to international arts practitioners. The proposed activity should be within a 30-minute duration and can include an excerpt performance, demonstration, workshop, sharing, or any other related activities. Please ensure that the proposed activity aligns with the venue specifications and utilizes the provided technical equipment.

  4. Is it necessary to have previous experience in international promotion?
    While previous experience in international promotion is considered advantageous, it is not a mandatory requirement for the application. We suggest that you could describe more on how you intend to promote your group or yourself through the proposed activity in your proposal. This will assist us in evaluating your application.

  5. Can I bring my own technical equipment to the venue for my activity?
    HKPAX will provide basic equipment as listed in the technical specifications here. If applicant would like to use additional equipment, they may do so on their own cost and after discussion and agreement with HKPAX team in ensuring the additional technical requirement fits all the selected proposals.

  6. Which type of individuals will be joining Ground Search?
    Ground Search welcomes the participation of HKPAX pass holders. HKPAX aims for a global reach of international arts practitioners. We are excited to learn that a number of heavyweight international arts leaders and arts practitioners have agreed to participate, among them many presenters, venue operators, agents, as well as artists, producers, policy makers and individuals from the performing arts industry worldwide.

  7. Which art forms will be accepted for Ground Search?
    We welcome applications from all performing arts, including dance, drama, music, xiqu and multi-disciplinary art.

  8. When will HKPAX announce the results?
    We plan to notify successful applicants by July 2024. Stay tuned!

  9. If I have any questions about the open call and application, who should I contact?
    For enquiries, email us at [email protected].

 Apply

地表探索

申請指引

截止日期:2024年4月15日香港時間下午6時

香港將於2024年10月14至18日舉辦首屆「香港演藝博覽」,聚集來自世界各地的行業參與者以促進文化交流,並期望參與者能建立長遠持久的協作關係,激發新的可能性及促進合作項目的發展。請參閱關於香港演藝博覽了解更多。

「香港演藝博覽」的其中一個環節「地表探索」將於博覽期間在西九文化區藝術展亭舉行。這個環節鼓勵香港中小型表演藝術團體及個人藝術工作者充分利用這個平台展現才華,及加深與國際同業的聯繫,探索共同合作的機會。2024年10月15至18日,一連四天,每天將揀選多組個人藝術工作者或藝術團體,每組進行一個不多於30分鐘的作品展示、工作坊或項目分享等的藝術活動。「香港演藝博覽」將提供舞台、基本技術設備,並為每組被揀選的申請者提供港幣$20,000津貼以支持他們的展示/工作坊/分享。

申請者需要在2024年4月15日香港時間下午6時前提交網上申請表格及所需文件。

  1. 讓國際參加者了解香港中西文化薈萃的獨特優勢和文化多樣性;
  2. 進一步向國際推廣香港表演藝術行業,向全球同業介紹本地中小型表演藝術團體及個人藝術工作者;
  3. 擴闊本地藝術工作者的經驗和視野,增進參加者向國際藝術機構推廣作品的經驗;
  4. 拓展國際演出的機會並建立國際網絡,尋求日後合作機會的可能性。

申請者:

  1. 必須是在表演藝術領域擁有不少於三年經驗的本地專業藝術團體或個人藝術工作者。申請者不限於曾獲香港藝術發展局「優秀藝團計劃」、「年度資助」及「計劃資助」支持的藝術團體或個人藝術工作者。
  2. 過去三年內(由2021年4月至2024年4月)曾參與過或主辦過至少一個售票的演出節目/演出將獲優先考慮。
  3. 申請者和項目中的主要合作成員必須持有香港身份證並居住在香港。


申請活動:

  1. 必須是時長在30分鐘以內的活動,形式可以包括但不限於作品選段演出、演出示範、工作坊或分享。每個獲選活動之間將有15分鐘的轉場時間。
  2. 活動必須符合場地的規格,並使用「香港演藝博覽」提供的基本技術設備,請按此參閱規格詳請。如果申請者希望使用額外的設備需自行承擔額外成本,並必須與「香港演藝博覽」團隊討論及確認,確保額外的技術需求符合所有被選中的申請活動。

  1. 申請表可以英文或中文填寫。
  2. 提交申請後,申請者或需要提供補充資料及文件。如無法在限期內提交相關資料,將有機會被視作撤回有關申請。
  3. 請在提交申請前細閱及了解場地資料及技術設備規格,請按此參閱詳請。

  1. 申請以下列準則進行審批:
    1. 申請者/參與者的藝術水平、代表性、組織能力及過往的國際推廣經驗;
    2. 活動對推廣香港文化藝術的助益;
    3. 活動的進行/體現方法是否配合「香港演藝博覽」既定的目標/理念;
    4. 活動的內容、規模、工作時間表是否合理可行。
  2. 申請將由「香港演藝博覽」的本地顧問團隊及香港藝術發展局表演藝術組別(舞蹈、戲劇、音樂及戲曲)的主席審批,並向香港藝術發展基金委員會提出審批建議。而該委員會擁有最終決定權。
  3. 每個獲選活動的申請者將獲得港幣$20,000的津貼,以支持其活動的開支。
  4. 每個獲選活動的申請者須向「香港演藝博覽」提供資料,包括但不限於照片、評論及影片,以供宣傳及推廣之用途。

成功入選的申請者必須:

  1. 在「地表探索」中展示一個不超過30分鐘的藝術活動,每個活動之間會有15分鐘的轉場時間。日子及時間將由「香港演藝博覽」決定及安排。
  2. 需要提交資料以用於介紹成功入選的申請者,資料包括但不限於藝術團體/藝術家的介紹、活動照片及影片(如可,請提供英文字幕)。
  3. 參與彩排(確實時間待定)或其他相關活動。

  1. 我可以遞交多於一份「地表探索」的申請嗎?
    為了提供平等機會給各個藝術團體,每位申請者只可遞交一份申請。

  2. 我可以在2024年10月15至18日期間選擇特定的日期和時間嗎?
    很遺憾,不可以。「香港演藝博覽」會按照每個活動的藝術界別及技術需求的實際情況為成功入選的申請者安排活動日期及時間。每位成功入選的申請者將在2024年10月15日至18日期間的其中一天進行一節30分鐘的活動。

  3. 對於活動計劃的內容,有任何具體要求嗎?
    「地表探索」提供一個專門為本地中小型表演藝術團體及個人藝術工作者而設的平台,讓他們向國際同業介紹自己。活動時長需不超過30分鐘,形式可以是選段演出、演出示範、工作坊、分享或其他相關的藝術活動。請確保活動計劃內容符合場地及技術設備的規格。

  4. 是否必須具備國際推廣的經驗才可遞交申請?
    雖然具備國際推廣經驗的申請會獲優先考慮,但這並不是强制的資格準則。我們建議你在申請表格中描述你如何通過活動計劃來推廣自己,這將有助於我們評估你的申請。

  5. 我可以攜帶自己的技術設備到場地進行我的活動嗎?
    「香港演藝博覽」提供基本設施,詳細的技術設備規格請按此參閱。如果申請者希望使用額外的設備,請自行承擔相關費用,並且必須經與香港演藝博覽團隊討論及確認,確保額外的技術需求符合所有被選中的申請活動。

  6. 會有哪些類型的人士參與「地表探索」?
    「地表探索」歡迎持有「香港演藝博覽」通行證的人士參與,同時也向公眾提供有限的參與機會。我們將邀請來自全球的藝術從業員參與香港演藝博覽,多位重量級國際藝術領袖及藝術從業員已答允參與,包括國際表演藝術主辦機構、場地營運者、藝術家及組織、監製以及政策制定機構等與表演藝術相關的人士。

  7. 「地表探索」接受哪些藝術界別的申請?
    我們歡迎所有類型的表演藝術界別申請,包括舞蹈、戲劇、音樂、戲曲及跨界別藝術。

  8. 香港演藝博覽將於甚麼時候公佈結果?
    我們希望在2024年7月期間通知成功入選的申請者。請留意相關通知。

  9. 如我就公開徵集及申請有任何疑問,可以跟誰聯絡?
    如有任何疑問,可透過電郵[email protected]查詢。

 立即申請